Juan Carlos Varela Is The New President Of Panama

Juan Carlos Varela was announced as the new president of Panama on Sunday, May 4 and will serve the 2014 – 2019 presidency. He will succeed President Ricardo Martinelli who served as president from 2009 – 2014.

This was a very close election with Varela obtaining 39.2% of the votes, José Domingo Arias with 32.02% of the votes, and Juan Carlos Navarro with 27.51% of the votes.

In the history of Panama’s democracy, the same party has never been elected twice in a row. The preliminary surveys showed Arias in the lead, who is part of the same party as Martinelli (CD) so this was thought to be the first election with a repeating party. But the tradition continues with the new presidential term with Varela being announced as the winner.

There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a Reply